Pie and Whiskey

Featuring Steve Almond, CMarie Fuhrman, Melissa Huggins, Kate Lebo, Sam Ligon, Gary Copeland Lilley, Chelsea Martin, Tiffany Midge, Phong Nguyen, and Jess Walter

Pie & Whiskey: Writers under the Influence of Butter & Booze Cover Image
By Kate Lebo (Editor), Samuel Ligon (Editor)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781632171122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sasquatch Books - October 24th, 2017

What happens when good writing is inspired by and served with a slice of pie and a shot of whiskey?


Bad Stories: What the Hell Just Happened to Our Country Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781597092265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - April 1st, 2018

Like a lot of Americans, Steve Almond spent the weeks after the 2016 election lying awake, in a state of dread and bewilderment. The problem wasn't just the election, but the fact that nobody could explain, in any sort of coherent way, why America had elected a cruel, corrupt, and incompetent man to the Presidency.


William Stoner and the Battle for the Inner Life: Bookmarked Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781632460875
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ig Publishing - June 11th, 2019

Stoner is a 1965 novel by the American writer John Williams. It tells the story of William Stoner, who attends the state university to study agronomy, but instead falls in love with English literature and becomes an academic.


Among the Dead and Dreaming Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781935248781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Leapfrog Press - April 5th, 2016

A masterful exhibition in storytelling; a breathless page-turner. Ligon drives his narrative like a formula one racer. Buckle your seat belts and get ready for a thrilling ride.--Jonathan Evison, West of Here


The Hog Killing Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9780692131848
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(Please note: This book cannot be returned.)
Published: Blue Horse Press - August 8th, 2018

Caca Dolce: Essays from a Lowbrow Life Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781593766771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soft Skull Press - August 22nd, 2017

An "enchanting" memoir of an artist in search of herself: "A sure hit for fans of Sara Benincasa's Agorafabulous and Lena Dunham's Not That Kind of Girl" (Booklist, starred review).Caca Dolce is the "funny, candid, and bracingly self-aware" story of Chelsea Martin's coming of age as an artist (The Rumpus).


Pre-Order Now Badge
Bury My Heart at Chuck E. Cheese's Cover Image
By Tiffany Midge, Geary Hobson (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781496224934
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bison Books - May 1st, 2021

Bury My Heart at Chuck E. Cheese’s is a powerful and compelling collection of Tiffany Midge’s musings on life, politics, and identity as a Native woman in America. Artfully blending sly humor, social commentary, and meditations on love and loss, Midge weaves short, standalone musings into a memoir that stares down colonialism while chastising hipsters for abusing pumpkin spice.


Woman Who Married a Bear: Poems (Mary Burritt Christiansen Poetry) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780826356529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of New Mexico Press - March 1st, 2016

Winner of the Kenyon Review Earthworks Prize for Indigenous Poetry, Tiffany Midge deftly weaves Plains Indian myths into the present day and seeks to define love, the nature of desire, and identity in the twenty-first century. The book includes a series of poems, each titled Considering Wakantanka, that connect the themes throughout the book.


Pages from the Textbook of Alternate History Cover Image
Hard to find. Call for price and availability.
ISBN: 9781732009196
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
(Please note: This book cannot be returned.)
Published: C&r Press - March 15th, 2019

At critical moments in world history, every political, spiritual, and cultural leader foresaw a different destiny. Columbus planned a Western sea route to Asia; Hitler applied to art school twice; Joan of Arc prophesied that she would become a mother. It is out of their failures that history itself is made. But what if the history-makers succeeded in the fulfillment of their best-laid plans?


The Cold Millions: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062868084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - October 27th, 2020

“One of the most captivating novels of the year.” – Washington Post 

NATIONAL BESTSELLER