November/December 2008

Our picks for November and December 2008...
Fifteen Animals! (Boynton on Board) Cover Image
$6.95
ISBN: 9780761130666
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Workman Publishing Company - October 8th, 2008

Check out Sandra Boynton’s latest, Fifteen Animals, a totally silly counting book certain to make your little one giggle! Count all fifteen animals, each named Bob (except for one…) and download the song for free online!


The Donut Chef (A Golden Classic) Cover Image
By Bob Staake, Bob Staake (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780375844034
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Golden Books - September 9th, 2008

Donuts laced with kiwi jam and served inside an open clam?? The competing bakers in this witty, inventive tale by New Yorker cartoonist turned children’s author Bob Staake will try anything to win the donut war. Brightly illustrated and told in engaging, Dr. Seuss style rhymes, this book offers a lesson about simplicity, and it’s wonderful to read aloud. Just don’t read it while you’re hungry!


Fanny Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780316166874
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2008

From the author of the beloved Toot & Puddle books comes the tender, lively story of Fanny and her doll Annabelle. When Fanny’s mom refuses to buy her a glamorous “Connie” doll, resourceful Fanny makes one herself. In the tradition of Raggedy Ann and The Velveteen Rabbit, hand-stitched “Annabelle” has a uniquely charming personality. Fanny takes care and delight in making a home for her, just as the author has taken great care in crafting this lovely story. With its beautiful watercolor illustrations and do-it-yourself paper doll, this book is a celebration of the creative spirit. Great for girls of all ages.


Gingerbread Friends Cover Image
By Jan Brett, Jan Brett (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399251610
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 11th, 2008

Once again, Award-winning author Jan Brett brings us another beautifully illustrated story, rich in details, just in time for the holidays! Gingerbread Baby is lonely and in need of some friends his own size, but throughout his adventures he seems to find nothing but trouble. Sad and hopeless, Gingerbread Baby returns home only to find the perfect surprise from his boy, Mattie. Don’t miss the instructions throughout the book for creating your own gingerbread friends!


Drummer Boy Cover Image
By Loren Long, Loren Long (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399251740
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Philomel Books - October 2nd, 2008

Bestselling illustrator Loren Long offers us a new heartwarming tale about a boy’s well-loved toy drummer boy, a gift he was given to experience the joy of the holidays before Christmas arrived. One day, the boy’s dog accidentally knocks the drummer boy into the trash and sends it on a journey through town, during which the drummer boy brings peace to everyone he meets, with the steady beat of his drum, reminding us that the greatest present we can give is ourselves.


A Giant Problem (Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles #2) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780689871320
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 16th, 2008

The adventure continues in this fun and beautifully illustrated story.  Nick, Laurie, and Jules are back and they have to find a giant, but where to look, that’s the question.  And, how do they defeat it?  Working through clues and puzzles might get them there, but you’ll have to find out for yourself when you read it.  Don’t miss this great book that’s perfect for both boys and girls.


The Hunger Games Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780439023481
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - October 1st, 2008

Suzanne Collins, the author of the popular Gregor the Overlander series, has written a novel for teens that shouldn’t be missed.  Set in a future that seems frighteningly real, The Hunger Games is a fascinating story about oppression, survival, and the lengths a person will go to for the people they love.  Katniss and Peeta have been selected from their district, through a random draw, along with 22 other contenders to participate in the Hunger Games, which is an almost certain death sentence.  Their participation is mandated by the Capitol, an oppressive government that rules with an iron fist and to give up, means certain death.  This novel is fast paced, the characters are real and engaging, and if you read it, I promise you won’t be disappointed!


The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Harry Potter) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780545128285
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - December 4th, 2008

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, which was first mentioned in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, is a complete volume of five tales that should be added to every Harry Potter collection.  Each tale sheds further insight on the world of Harry Potter and the book is filled with illustrations and notes by J.K. Rowling.