[Zoom Event] Sparrow: A conversation with Mary Cecilia Jackson and Barbara Bottner

YA writer Mary Cecelia Jackson will read from her book Sparrow, the story of ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future. In conversation with Mary will be Barbara Bottner, author of I am Here Now. 

Copy and paste this Zoom link into your browswer to attend:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86763075841

About Sparrow: 

Though Savannah Rose—“Sparrow” to her friends and family—is a gifted ballerina, her real talent is keeping secrets. Schooled in silence by her long-dead mother, Sparrow has always believed that her lifelong creed—“I’m not the kind of girl who tells”—will make her just like everyone else: Normal. Happy. Safe. But in the aftermath of a brutal assault by her seemingly perfect boyfriend Tristan, Sparrow must finally find the courage to confront the ghosts of her past, or lose herself forever….

About Mary Cecelia Jackson: 

Mary Cecilia Jackson has worked as a middle school teacher, an adjunct instructor of college freshmen, a technical writer and editor, a speechwriter, a museum docent, and a development officer for central Virginia’s PBS and NPR stations. Her first novel, Sparrow, was an honor recipient of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators' Sue Alexander Award, and a young adult finalist in the Writers’ League of Texas manuscript contest. She lives with her architect husband, William, in Western North Carolina and Hawaii.

About Barbara Bottner: 

Barbara Bottner, a New York Times bestselling author, has written (and sometimes illustrated) more than forty titles for children, from wordless picture books to young adult novels. Her work has been translated, animated, and adopted into short musicals. Bootsie Barker Bites, Wallace's Lists (with Gerald Kruglik), Miss Brooks Loves Books, Priscilla Gorilla, and Amy is Famous are some of her favorites.

Barbara formerly worked in children's television and CBS prime time comedy, and has published short stories and essays in national newspapers and magazines. She walks her dog Petey and hangs with her husband, Gerald, in Los Angeles.

Event date: 
Wednesday, August 5, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Sparrow: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780765398864
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Tor Teen - March 16th, 2021

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Mary Cecilia Jackson's devastating but hopeful YA debut is about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future.

There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey


I Am Here Now Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250207692
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Imprint - August 4th, 2020

Set in the 1960s, Barbara Bottner's I Am Here Now is a beautiful novel in verse about one artist’s coming of age. It’s a heartbreaking, powerful and inspiring depiction of what it's like to shatter your life—and piece it all back together.