Writers of the Future: Volume 34 Release Celebration and Signing

Please join us to celebrate the recent release of Writers of the Future's Volume 34 showcasing Science Fiction writing and illustration!

We will be joined by Jeremy TeGrotenhuis (featured in volume 34), Jon Lasser (featured in volume 32), and Bruce Brenneise (featured in volume 34).

About Writers of the Future:

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests have left an indelible mark on the fields of science fiction and fantasy. With more than three decades of developing new professional writers and more than a quarter century of cultivating new professional illustrators, the impact that the two Contests have had on the field is impossible to measure.

Renowned author and critic Algis Budrys led the original Writers of the Future Contest, with a blue-ribbon panel of science fiction legends serving as judges: Dr. Gregory Benford, Robert Silverberg, Theodore Sturgeon, Jack Williamson, and Roger Zelazny. The first awards ceremony was held in 1985 in Beverly Hills, California.

About Jeremy TeGrotenhuis:

Jeremy A. TeGrotenhuis is a writer from Eastern Washington state, where he grew up playing make-believe in the same desert that houses the most polluted nuclear waste site in America. He has lived in Beijing, where he studied Mandarin, and in Taipei, where he and his wife Hannah taught English. His fiction has appeared in two anthologies from TWG press, Peak Heat and Night Market, as well as in Weird Sisters: Lilac City Fairy Tales Volume 3 from Scablands Books and in Beneath Ceaseless Skies magazine. He is currently revising a fantasy novel set in the same world as “The Minarets of An-Zabat” and finishing the first draft of another, and has half a dozen short stories out on submission at any given time. Currently, he lives in Spokane, Washington where he is pursuing a Masters in Teaching at Whitworth University, his undergraduate alma-mater.

About Jon Lasser:

Jon Lasser was born in New York City. He lives in the Ballard neighborhood of Seattle, Washington with his wife and two children. He is a graduate of the Clarion West class of 2016. His stories have won the Writers of the Future contest and been shortlisted for the James White award. They have appeared or are forthcoming in Writers of the Future, Volume 32; Diabolical Plots; Galaxy’s Edge; and elsewhere. When not writing or working in the tech industry, Jon plays with his children, cooks, drinks at Ballard’s six (or is that eight?) microbreweries, and scuba dives, but not after microbrewery visits. He prefers cold-water over tropical diving, though he wouldn’t turn down a vacation to Maui or Bonaire.

About Bruce Brenneise:

Bruce Brenneise grew up in southwestern Michigan, taking an early interest in nature, fantasy fiction, maps, and travel. He graduated with a BFA from the University of Michigan--ostensibly studying scientific illustration but with an obvious tendency towards fantasy creatures and their environments. After college, Bruce spent six years living in China: traveling and sketching throughout that vast country and its neighbors. 

Returning to the US in 2012, he has more directly pursued a career in science fiction and fantasy illustration. Bruce regularly exhibits his personal work (fantasy landscapes) at conventions such as Gen Con and Emerald City Comicon. With clients mainly in self-publishing, indie computer gaming, and tabletop gaming, his most notable recent project involved creating a lot of weird, epic landscapes for the Numenera 2 RPG Kickstarter. He currently lives in Seattle with his wife and carnivorous plants.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
Auntie's Bookstore
402 W Main Ave
Spokane, WA 99201
Writers of the Future Volume 34: The Best New Sci Fi and Fantasy Short Stories of the Year Cover Image
ISBN: 9781619865754
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Galaxy Press Inc. - April 10th, 2018

Writers of the Future Vol 34: #1 Bestselling Sci-Fi & Fantasy Short Stories of the Year Paperback - April 10, 2018

24 Award-Winning Authors and Illustrators
Accompanied by Orson Scott Card, Brandon Sanderson, Jody Lynn Nye, Jerry Pournelle, Ciruelo and Echo Chernik
Edited by David Farland