"The Secret History of Bigfoot" by John O'Connor

Tuesday, February 13, 2024 - 6:00pm


 

From the shrouded forests of the Pacific Northwest to off-the-wall cryptozoological conventions, one man searches high and low for the answer to the question: real or not, why do we want to believe?


Join us and author John O'Connor for his book The Secret History of Bigfoot: Field Notes on a North American Monster

Tuesday, February 13th at 6pm at the Central Library (906 W Main Ave) Event Rooms A & B combined.

This event is free and open to the public.
RSVP below!

About the book

Bigfoot is an instantly recognizable figure. Through the decades, this elusive primate has been featured in movies and books, and on coffee mugs, beer koozies, car polish, and CBD oil. Which begs the question: what is it about Bigfoot that's caught hold of our imaginations?

Journalist and self-diagnosed skeptic John O'Connor is fascinated by Sasquatch. Curious to learn more, he embarks on a quest through the North American wilds in search of Bigfoot, its myth and meaning. Alongside an eccentric cast of characters, he explores the zany and secretive world of "cryptozoology," tracking Bigfoot through ancient folklore to Harry and the Hendersons, while examining the forces behind our ever-widening belief in the supernatural. As O'Connor treks through the shrouded forests of the Pacific Northwest, listens to firsthand accounts, and attends Bigfoot conventions, he's left wondering—what happens when the lines between myth and reality blur? 

Perfect for fans of Bill Bryson and Douglas Preston and with sharp wit and an adventurous spirit, this heartfelt exploration of a cornerstone of American folklore unpacks why we believe in the things that we do, what that says about us, and how it shapes our world.


About the author

John O’Connor is a journalist and regular contributor to The New York Times Travel Section and other publications. He teaches travel writing and lives with his family in Cambridge, MA.

 

** Please note this event is taking place at the Central Library and not at Auntie's Bookstore. See you there! **

 

Event address: 
Central Library
906 W Main Ave
Spokane, WA 99201
Books: 
The Secret History of Bigfoot: Field Notes on a North American Monster By John O’Connor Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781464216633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks - February 6th, 2024

"A winning portrait of America at its weirdest." — Publishers Weekly STARRED Review

From the shrouded forests of the Pacific Northwest to off-the-wall cryptozoological conventions, one man searches high and low for the answer to the question: real or not, why do we want to believe?