Independent Bookstore Day at Auntie's Bookstore!

We hope you'll join us the last Saturday of April to celebrate another exciting Indie Bookstore Day and take advantage of some of our limited time offers and in-store events.

For our store hours on Saturday, April 27th only we will be offering our "bestseller" discount on all new hardcovers in-store. That means you'll receive 20% off any new hardcover you've had your eye on!

We will also have two raffle baskets on display that customers can enter for a chance to win - one Penguin Random House Basket and one local authors basket! Customers can sign up to enter into the raffle by registering for our e-mail newsletter. Raffle winners will be drawn at 6:00 PM and contacted by phone.

This year we'll be joined by four local authors, all with new releases in the past year, to sign and discuss their work:

From 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM..
Ben Goldfarb & Jack Nisbet

Ben Goldfarb, author of "Eager: The Surprising, Secret Life of Beavers and Why They Matter", a recent E.O. Wilson Prize for Literary Science Writing from PEN America recipient, will be signing and discussing his paperback that reveals that our modern idea of what a healthy landscape looks like and how it functions is wrong, distorted by the fur trade that once trapped out millions of beavers from North America's lakes and rivers. The consequences of losing beavers were profound: streams eroded, wetlands dried up, and species from salmon to swans lost vital habitat. Today, a growing coalition of "Beaver Believers"--including scientists, ranchers, and passionate citizens--recognizes that ecosystems with beavers are far healthier, for humans and non-humans alike, than those without them.

Reviews:

"A marvelously humor-laced page-turner about the science of semi-aquatic rodents.... A masterpiece of a treatise on the natural world." --The Washington Post (Washington Post "50 Notable Works of Nonfiction")

"Eager takes us inside the amazing world of nature's premier construction engineer...and shows us why the restoration of an animal almost driven to extinction is producing wide-ranging, positive effects on our landscapes, ecology, and even our economy." ―National Geographic

"Impressively researched, charmingly written, absolutely persuasive book. . . .Goldfarb makes his argument with a quiet power and deceptively breezy writing that paints a vivid picture of how the various inhabitants of the natural world rely on one other. Take one vital piece out and the whole thing could collapse." --The Seattle Times
 

Jack Nisbet, local favorite and author of "The Dreamer and the Doctor" will be discussing his newest title. "The Dreamer and the Doctor" takes a look at the turn-of-the-twentieth-century Northwest, the lives and passions of an American physician and her Swedish naturalist husband helped shape a territory on the cusp of change.

Reviews:

"For more than two decades, Spokane teacher and historian Jack Nisbet has been telling the stories of the Intermountain West. Now he's turning his careful attention to Dr. Carrie Leiberg and her husband, John Leiberg, who arrived in the Idaho Panhandle in 1885 and homesteaded on the southern tip of Lake Pend Oreille." --The Spokesman-Review

"Early on in The Dreamer and the Doctor, the reader emerges from a gorgeous description of North Idaho as Swedish prospector John Leiberg must have found it...In the end, this is the story of two flawed, extraordinary people who contributed to our understanding of the Northwest, both of their time but remarkably forward-thinking." --The Inlander

"Jack Nisbet continues to educate, entertain, and mesmerize with this meticulously written and researched story of two people-of-destiny whose intelligence and passion transformed our awareness and understanding of the Northwest. Part history, part adventure tale, part love story, part futuristic foreshadowing, this book fascinated me from beginning to end with its eloquence, urgency, and quiet intensity." --Kim Barnes, author of In the Wilderness: Coming of Age in Unknown Country
 

From 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM...
Sherry Jones & Elliot Reed

Sherry Jones, author of "Josephine Baker's Last Dance", invites you to discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance.

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

Reviews:

"Jones weaves history and passion in a tale full of emotional heft that questions what it means to truly love someone..." --Kirkus Reviews

"[An] entertaining portrait of a groundbreaking woman. Hand this to fans of Paula McLain's The Paris Wife (2011), Liza Klaussman's Villa America (2015), and other tales of Jazz Age artists." --Booklist

"Sherry Jones takes us on a remarkable journey of heartbreak and empowerment. Josephine Baker's Last Dance is a bold and beautiful book about a bold and beautiful life. This book left its mark on me."--Susan Crandall, author of The Myth of Perpetual Summer
 

Elliot Reed, author of the debut fiction novel "A Key to Treehouse Living" deftly and experimentally explores the limits of storytelling in the adventure of William Tyce, a boy without parents, who grows up near a river in the rural Midwest. In a glossary-style list, he imparts his particular wisdom on subjects ranging from ASPHALT PATHS, BETTA FISH, and MULLET to MORTAL BETRAYAL, NIHILISM, and REVELATION. His improbable quest--to create a reference volume specific to his existence--takes him on a journey down the river by raft (see MYSTICAL VISION, see NAVIGATING BIG RIVERS BY NIGHT). He seeks to discover how his mother died (see ABSENCE) and find reasons for his father's disappearance (see UNCERTAINTY, see VANITY). But as he goes about defining his changing world, all kinds of extraordinary and wonderful things happen to him.

Reviews:

"William sets off down river in a Huck Finn-esque journey that takes him physically and emotionally through mystical and awe-inspiring spaces. . . . giving a book about existential darkness an undeniable sense of beauty and wonder." --Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

"A Key to Treehouse Living--it's terrific, funny, poignant and just weird enough, transcends that great form. I ate it up." --Jess Walter, author of "Beautiful Ruins"

"Crisp and lyrical, emotionally assured, delightfully inventive--Reed has made a marvelous debut." --Kirkus

We hope to see you the last Saturday of April to enjoy this special day with our local author guests! Click below to let us know to see you there!

 

Event date: 
Saturday, April 27, 2019 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Event address: 
Auntie's Bookstore
402 W Main Ave
Spokane, WA 99201
A Key to Treehouse Living Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781947793040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - September 4th, 2018

A Key to Treehouse Living is the adventure of William Tyce, a boy without parents, who grows up near a river in the rural Midwest. In a glossary-style list, he imparts his particular wisdom on subjects ranging from ASPHALT PATHS, BETTA FISH, and MULLET to MORTAL BETRAYAL, NIHILISM, and REVELATION.


The Dreamer and the Doctor: A Forest Lover and a Physician on the Edge of the Frontier Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781632172020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sasquatch Books - October 23rd, 2018

In the turn-of-the-twentieth-century Northwest, the lives and passions of an American physician and her Swedish naturalist husband helped shape a territory on the cusp of change--from the author of Sources of the River and The Collector.


Josephine Baker's Last Dance Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501102448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - December 4th, 2018

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, an


Eager: The Surprising, Secret Life of Beavers and Why They Matter Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781603589086
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chelsea Green Publishing Company - March 8th, 2019

WINNER of the 2019 PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award

Washington Post "50 Notable Works of Nonfiction"

Science News "Favorite Science Books of 2018"

Booklist "Top Ten Science/Technology Book of 2018"