Girlhood: Melissa Febos in conversation with Kate Lebo

Join us Thursday, May 20th for a virtual event with Melissa Febos. She and Kate Lebo (author of The Book of Difficult Fruit) will discuss Melissa's new book, Girlhood. 

Use this link to register for this free event:  https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYqde2uqDovHdejhvEHC1EuISxTnr27XyZ_

About the book: 

For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, a poignant, universal story of the forces that shape girls and of a world where women are rarely free to define themselves.

In her dazzling new book, critically acclaimed author Melissa Febos examines the narratives women are told about what it means to be a girl and the realities of growing up female in a world that prioritizes the feelings, perceptions, and power of men at girls’ expense.

Febos was eleven when her body began to change, and almost overnight, the way people spoke to, looked at, and treated her changed with it. As she grew, she defined herself based on these perceptions and by the romantic relationships she threw herself into headlong. But in her thirties, Febos began to question the stories she’d been told about herself and the habits and defenses she’d developed over years of trying to meet others’ expectations. The values she and so many other women had learned in girlhood did not prioritize their personal safety, happiness, or freedom, and she set out to reframe those values and beliefs.

Blending investigative reporting, memoir, and scholarship, Febos charts how she and others like her have reimagined relationships and made room for the anger, hurt, and grief women have long been taught to deny.
Fierce and breathtaking, written with Febos’ characteristic lyricism and searing insights, Girlhood is an anthem for women, a powerful exploration of the forces that seek to confine them, and a searing study of the transitions into and away from girlhood on a lifelong journey of discovery.

 

About the authors: 

Melissa Febos is the author of the memoir Whip Smart and two essay collections: Abandon Me, a LAMBDA Literary Award finalist and Publishing Triangle Award finalist, and Girlhood, a National Bestseller, which was released on March 30. Catapult will publish a collection of her craft essays, Body Work, in 2022.The inaugural winner of the Jeanne Córdova Nonfiction Award from LAMBDA Literary and the recipient of fellowships from The MacDowell Colony, Bread Loaf, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, The BAU Institute, Vermont Studio Center, The Barbara Deming Foundation, and others; her essays have appeared in The Paris ReviewThe Believer, McSweeney’s Quarterly, Granta, Sewanee Review, Tin House, The Sun, and The New York Times. She is an associate professor at the University of Iowa, where she teaches in the Nonfiction Writing Program.

Kate Lebo’s first collection of essays, The Book of Difficult Fruit, is out now from Farrar, Straus & Giroux in the US and from Picador in the UK. Other recent work includes the chapbook Seven Prayers to Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Entre Rios Books) and the anthology Pie & Whiskey: Writers Under the Influence of Butter and Booze (Sasquatch Books), which she edited with Samuel Ligon. Her essay about listening through hearing loss, “The Loudproof Room,” originally published in New England Review, was anthologized in Best American Essays.

 

Event date: 
Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Girlhood Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635572520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 30th, 2021

National Bestseller

Named a Most Anticipated Book by:

The New York Times * Buzzfeed * Time.com * OprahMag.com * The Millions * The Rumpus * LitHub * Paperback Paris * The Lily (Washington Post) * Ms. * LAMBDA Literary


The Book of Difficult Fruit: Arguments for the Tart, Tender, and Unruly (with recipes) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374110321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - April 6th, 2021

"[A] glorious mash-up of memoir, love note, and cookbook. . . Every sentence is as sensuous as the first bite into a cold, juicy plum."—Hillary Kelly, Vulture

"[A] dazzling, thorny new essay collection."—Samin Nosrat, The New York Times Magazine