Get Lit! Book Club with Tricia

Sunday, January 29, 2023 - 6:00pm

THIS BOOK CLUB WILL NOW BE MEETING THE LAST SUNDAY OF EACH MONTH.

Welcome to the new Get Lit! Book Club!
This book club will meet at Auntie's Bookstore the last Sunday of every month from 6-7pm.

Leading up to the Get Lit! Festival held in April, this book club will be reading a book each month by one of the contributing authors. The discussion for these meetings is focused on craft elements: use of language, how form works within the genre, what readers found compelling, what challenged them while reading, etc. Genres will range from fiction to nonfiction to poetry.
 

January

We will be reading Tell Me I’m an Artist by Chelsea Martin.  

“A portrait of an artist as a work in progress” (Sharma Shields) from an author known for her candid and searching prose, this masterful debut novel examines the invisible divide created by class and privilege, ruminates on the shame that follows choosing a path that has not been laid out for you, and interrogates what makes someone an artist at all.

Event address: 
Auntie's Bookstore
402 W Main Ave
Spokane, WA 99201
Books: 
Tell Me I'm An Artist By Chelsea Martin Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781593767211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soft Skull - September 20th, 2022

"Portrait of the artist as a broke and brilliant, hungry and funny young woman" (Lynn Steger Strong, author of Want), this hilarious and incisive coming-of-age novel about an art student from a poor family struggling to find her place in a new social class of rich, well-connected peers is perfect for fans of Elif Batuman’s The Idiot and Weike Wang’s Chemistry