Delia Owens: Where the Crawdads Sing [Ticketed Event]

Auntie’s Bookstore is overjoyed to announce that we will be hosting, and hope you’ll join us to hear, New York Times Bestselling author Delia Owens. Delia is the author of “Where the Crawdads Sing” - a breakout fiction debut that is being applauded as “painfully beautiful” (New York Times book review). Delia will read, answer questions from her book, and sign copies for readers in attendance. Looking for the perfect February date night? We’ve got it! 

Tickets are available for customers who purchase a copy of Delia’s book, “Where the Crawdads Sing” from Auntie’s Bookstore in store, over the phone, or via the following link: https://bit.ly/2zndcaR 

Tickets are also available by paying a $5 RSVP fee for readers who already own this book. RSVP fees can be paid in store, over the phone, or via the following link: https://bit.ly/2OZ0xjp 

A portion of sales from this event will benefit Spokane Public Library Foundation.

PLEASE NOTE: Delia Owen’s reading event will be hosted outside of Auntie’s Bookstore in partnership with the Spokane Public Library at the Downtown Library located at 906 W Main Avenue Spokane, WA 99201.

ABOUT THE BOOK (Courtesy of Publisher):

A Reese Witherspoon “Hello Sunshine” Book Club Pick!

Fans of Barbara Kingsolver will love this stunning debut novel from a New York Times bestselling nature writer, about an unforgettable young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open. For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark. But Kya is not what they say. Abandoned at age ten, she has survived on her own in the marsh that she calls home. A born naturalist with just one day of school, she takes life lessons from the land, learning from the false signals of fireflies the real way of this world. But while she could have lived in solitude forever, the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. Drawn to two young men from town, who are each intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new and startling world--until the unthinkable happens. In Where the Crawdads Sing, Owens juxtaposes an exquisite ode to the natural world against a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising murder investigation. Thought-provoking, wise, and deeply moving, Owens's debut novel reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR (Courtesy of Publisher): 

Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa-- Cry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, the African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many other publications. She currently lives in Idaho, where she continues her support for the people and wildlife of Zambia. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

Entrance for the event begins at 7:30 PM. Event begins at 8:00 PM. 

Books purchased and reserved in store will be available for pick up at Auntie’s (402 W Main Avenue Spokane, WA 99201) up until 4 PM the day of the event. If you aren’t able to pick up your book before then, we’ll have reserve copies and copies for sale at the Downtown Library. 

Review Quotes: 

"Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.” - People

"Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time."  - ShelfAwareness

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!” - Reese Witherspoon

Event date: 
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 - 8:00pm to 9:30pm
Event address: 
906 W. Main Avenue
Spokane, WA 99201
Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


$5.00
SKU: A156863901994