Amy Dresner: My Fair Junkie

We're excited to host writer Amy Dresner, author of "My Fair Junkie"! Her recovery memoir has spoken to so many since its release - we hope you'll join us to hear her story! An addict reflecting on her rocky road to recovery, Amy's story is candid and fast-paced.

About "My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean":

About Amy Dresner (Courtesy of Publisher):

Growing up in Beverly Hills, the only child of a comedy writer and a fashion designer, Amy Dresner believed that everything was always funny and turned out right. And she needed to believe it. If you could snort it, smoke it, shoot it, or have sex with it, she did. It was never her dream to become an Olympic athlete of self-destruction, but that's what happened.

Amy had managed to dodge any real repercussions of her 20-year battle with addiction despite 6 rehabs, 4 psych wards, 3 suicide attempts, and 20 grand mal seizures. But on Christmas Eve of 2011, that all changed. She was high on Oxycontin, in a shitty marriage, and she stupidly pulled a knife on her then husband. She was promptly arrested for felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon. For the next two years she would sweep up condoms and syringes on Hollywood Boulevard in the grueling sun as she bounced from various rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting life over in her 40s.

MY FAIR JUNKIE is the shameless, hilarious, and unfortunately--to Amy--true account of it all. A safari through the wild world of addiction, it's a raucous, inspiring story of redemption, and ultimately an insightful tale of courage and metamorphosis.

Amy Dresner is a former professional stand-up comic, having appeared at The Comedy Store, The Laugh Factory, and The Improv. Since 2012, she has been the sole columnist for the online addiction and recovery magazine TheFix.com. She also recently started freelancing for the Good Men Project and has been a regular contributor to Addiction.com and PsychologyToday.com where she has her own addiction blog entitled "Coming Clean" and is one of only a select few contributors without a Ph.D. selected to write for the website.

Event date: 
Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
Auntie's Bookstore
402 W Main Ave
Spokane, WA 99201
My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316430937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - September 18th, 2018

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.