Auntie's Holiday Gift Guide: Young Adult

Skyhunter Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250221681
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - September 29th, 2020

A broken world.
An overwhelming evil.
A team of warriors ready to strike back.


#1 New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu is back with an adrenaline-laced novel about the lengths one warrior will go to fight for freedom and those she loves.


Punching the Air Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062996480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 1st, 2020

Instant New York Times bestseller! From award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. 

The story that I thought

was my life


Instant Karma Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250618818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - November 3rd, 2020

In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her – both good and bad.


Legendborn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home.


Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.


Geese Are Never Swans Cover Image
By Kobe Bryant (Created by), Eva Clark
$18.99
ISBN: 9781949520057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Granity Studios - July 21st, 2020

"Packed full of emotion. . . . An influential read with a powerful message."--Booklist

Whether goose or swan, I have wings. And I'll fly.


Dragon Hoops Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626720794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - March 17th, 2020

In his latest graphic novel, Dragon Hoops, New York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches.

Gene understands stories—comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills. And the hero always wins.


Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534444959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 13th, 2020

Jason Reynolds’s Newbery Honor, Printz Honor, and Coretta Scott King Honor–winning, #1 New York Times bestselling novel Long Way Down is now a gripping, galvanizing graphic novel, with haunting artwork by Danica Novgorodoff.

Will’s older brother, Shawn, has been shot.
Dead.
Will feels a sadness so great, he can’t explain it.


Displacement Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250193537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - August 18th, 2020

A teenager is pulled back in time to witness her grandmother's experiences in World War II-era Japanese internment camps in Displacement, a historical graphic novel from Kiku Hughes.


The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536217018
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - December 1st, 2020

Writing from the perspective of a friend, Frederick Joseph offers candid reflections on his own experiences with racism and conversations with prominent artists and activists about theirs—creating an essential read for white people who are committed anti-racists and those newly come to the cause of racial justice.