Auntie's Holiday Gift Guide: Local Literati

The Cold Millions: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062868084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - October 27th, 2020

“One of the most captivating novels of the year.” – Washington Post 

A Library Reads Pick | An Indie Next Pick | A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year | A Kirkus Best Book of the Year | A Washington Post Best Book of the Year


Before Familiar Woods: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643852959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crooked Lane Books - March 10th, 2020

For fans of David Joy and Christopher J. Yates, comes Ian Pisarcik's haunting debut novel exploring the fraught nature of families and the inescapable secrets that are out to cripple them.

On the outskirts of a town too tired for its own happenings, the boys were found dead inside a tent.

Three years later, their fathers have disappeared, too.


In Accelerated Silence: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571315151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - February 11th, 2020

"The thin knife that severed your tumor," writes Brooke Matson in these poems, "it cleaves me still." What to do when a world is split--terribly, wholly--by grief? When the loss of the beloved undermines the most stable foundations, the most sacred spaces, of that world?


Baby Speaks Salish: A Language Manual Inspired by One Family's Effort to Raise a Salish Speaker Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781734697803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scablands Books - September 15th, 2020

Literary Nonfiction. Art. BABY SPEAKS SALISH is a one-of-a-kind manual created by a mother seeking to learn and share more Okanagan Salish language with her daughter than she herself was exposed to as an infant or toddler. Created for caregivers and the language curious, this book provides simple examples on how to integrate more Salish words into adult and child interactions.


Hezada! I Miss You Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780997193886
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Awst Press - February 10th, 2020

Fiction. LGBTQIA Studies. The last Midwestern traveling circus is due to arrive in a rural village it has visited for a century of summers. Like the village, the circus is on its last leg. It's down to one elephant and a handful of acrobats. The circus boss's sweetheart is dying. The former starring act is recovering from cancer. The assistant, Frank, plans to retire after this show.


Trial By Ordeal Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781725268999
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Resource Publications (CA) - May 12th, 2020

In a short period, Karen Mobley lost her family through death, was hit by a car, broke her leg, and experienced a number of calamities. This sequence of poems, Trial By Ordeal, explores her role as a daughter, sister, and lover as her faith is challenged. A visual artist, Mobley's poems are rich with her artist vision and observed experience.


The Names We Take Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781947845169
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ooligan Press - May 19th, 2020

Never leave someone behind: it's a promise easier made than kept, especially when seventeen-year-old Pip takes the headstrong twelve-year-old Iris under her protection in the wake of an earth-shattering plague. After an unspeakable tragedy, the duo must negotiate the complexities of their own identities amid the nearly unrecognizable remains of Spokane, Washington.


Voices of Young Heroes: A World War 2 Book for Kids Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781646114214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rockridge Press - August 4th, 2020

20 Extraordinary stories of young World War 2 heroes―written for kids 8 to 12


Voices of Ordinary Heroes: A World War II Book for Kids Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781647396428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rockridge Press - August 18th, 2020

A toolbox for kids 7 to 12 to understand their ADHD and live happier, healthier lives